Texas Genetics Society
Minutes of the General
Business Meeting
(and list of awardees)
Onstead Auditorium
MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX
April 30, 2016

Minutes

- 1. The meeting was called to order by Erika Abel, TGS President-elect, at 11:00 am and the minutes of the 2015 general business meeting were approved and are available on the TGS web site.
- 2. Treasurer's report: As of April 25, 2016, the TGS had a balance of \$23,512.52 Expenses for the current meeting are expected to total about \$17,163, leaving a balance of approximately \$ 6349.52, an increase over last year's balance. There were 102 registered for the meeting and 119 in attendance.
- 3. Erika thanked the local organizing committee, David Nelson, Steve Daiger, Ralf Krahe, and Gigi Lozano for their help in organizing the meeting.
- 4. Erika thanked those who served as judges and session moderators.
- 5. Erika thanked the sponsors for their support.
- 6. Erika thanked the outgoing board members, Penny Riggs, Sarah Canterberry, Alex Pertsemlidis, and Ramesh Gunaratna for their service to the TGS
- 7. Erika reported that Sarah Canterberry was elected as TGS President-elect for 2016 and that Steve Daiger and David Threadgill were elected to the Board of Directors.
- 8. Samantha Fletcher was nominated and elected by the trainees to serve on the Board of Directors for one year.
- Erika announced that next year's meeting will be held at the George W. Bush
 Presidential Library in College Station and that Penny Riggs would be the chair of
 the local organizing committee.

- 10. Alex Pertsemlidis and Richard Gunasekera were elected to serve on the Nominating Committee.
- 11. Best presentation awards were selected by the judges and Erika presented awards to the following individuals for best Poster and Platform presentations:

Poster Presentations:

Postdoctoral – Simon Trevino Graduate Student – Gita Dangol Undergraduate Student – Donghoon Kang Technician – Cenk Cengiz

Platform Presentation:

Postdoctoral – Anas Khanshour Graduate Student (tie) – Valerie Jordan Graduate Student (tie) – William Barrington

12. Meeting adjourned at 11:20.

Prepared by Joe Angel, Secretary/Treasurer

The following Awards were announced at the TGS annual banquet, April 29, 2016:

- 1. The Barbara Bowman Distinguished Texas Geneticist Award
 Dr. Ralf Krahe, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston
- 2. TGS Distinguished Service Award
 - Dr. Stephen Daiger, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
- 3. Emeritus Members
 - Dr. Robert Baker, Texas Tech University, Lubbock